My Ship30 Cohort Experience

Keith Hayden
2 min readSep 10, 2022

--

“I’m beginning my Ship30for30 experience today and I’m conflicted about it.”

  • Keith Hayden, Day 1 Ship30 Atomic Essay — Unpublished

I asked for a refund for Ship30 back in July because,

  • I wasn’t sure I would be able to get value out of it participating from Japan
  • I didn’t think the writing methodology would be a good fit for my writing style

Now I’m glad I didn’t back out. Here’s what I got out of my Ship30 experience.

A lot more people know about my work

I gained 63 followers on Twitter and probably 10 or so on LinkedIn, which is obviously helpful for more people finding me.

But follower count is much less important than making genuine connections and friendships. I’ve done that as well, with people from all over the world.

It was worth it staying up until 2AM Japan time just to hit the breakout rooms and see who I would meet.

I’m moving closer to realizing my creative goals

I got a better idea of what writing and output resonates with other people. That will help me immensely now and in the future. I’ve already moved closer to defining how and who I want to help online.

I wrote 1000s of words and did some serious reflection in my public memoir

Ship30 presents a valuable opportunity to get your writing in front of (potentially) thousands of new fans, customers, and clients.

So using it to write a public memoir? A big risk indeed. But I’m happy I followed through with it.

I wrote 21 entries in it while learning more about myself, and presenting thought provoking questions for readers to consider.

I look forward to continuing to work on it after the cohort ends.

Even though the cohort is ending, it doesn’t mean my learning or writing will. In fact, I’m looking forward to seeing how I can further refine my online presence with the Captain’s Table.

How was your Ship30 experience?

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--